The nomination phase

The call for submissions is closed, but what will happen next?

After all entries have been submitted a special selection committee in each city will establish a list of nominations. Nominated teams will be announced for Amsterdam, Delhi, Nairobi, México City and São Paulo on the 25th of January 2019.
About the process

Some first results



452 projects has been submitted



1438 makers have joined the Clean Energy Challenge.



Makers from 52 countries joined the challenge

Meet the Review members

Francoise Lavertu
Country Director & GM for Latin America, Southeast US & Florida | TESLA

“I hope to find simple impactful creative ideas that touch a cord and move the needle on behaviours.”

Aline Cavalcanti
bike activist

“I pay attention to the truth behind every idea, the desire to change the course of society and to be a part of this change.”

Madhav Raman
Architect |

“I will look at cultural sensitivity, especially in terms of patterns of energy consumption.”

Luis Herrera
Founder | Thrust Co

“I will focus on the following factors: peopleness (solving problems for users), the multiplying coefficient (scalable solutions) and ambitious talent.”

Sunny Dolat
Founder| The Nest Collective

Marko Brajovic
Architect | Atelier Marko Brajovic

All Delhi review team members


Swati Janu | Architect School of Planning and Architecture 

Nishita Gill | Founder & Managing Principal Treemouse Studio

Anubha Kakroo | Dean Indian Institute of Art & Design

Jatin Bhatt | Dean Amdebkar University

Amit Krishn Gulati | Product Designer Incubis

Madhav Raman | Founder Anagram Architects

Suditya Sinha | Founder Space Matters

Bharati Chaturvedi | Director Chintan Environmental Research and Action Group

Pujarini Sen| Campaigner Greenpeace India

Chhaya Bhanti | Founder, Creative Director Vertiver + Iora Ecological Solutions

Gaurav Shorey | Founder 5waraj + Psi Energy

Shubhashis Dey | Programme Manager Shakti foundation

Ashmeet Kapoor |Founder & CEO I Say Organic

Sourabh Gupta |Principal Architect and Managing Director Archohm

Pratap Raju | Founder Climate Launchpad

Shravan Shankar |Climate Launchpad

Bas Raijmakers | Design Researcher STBY

Nalin Agarwal | Climate Launchpad

Vikrom Mathur | Founder Tandem Research

Ashu Dehadani | Manager GRIHA Council

Mili Majumdar | Managing Director Green Business Certification Institute Pvt Ltd

Ayush Chauhan | Partner Quicksand Design Studio

All Sao Paulo review team members


Levi Girardi CEO Questtonó

Fred Gelli Criative Director Tatil

Davi Martins International Project Leader Greenpeace

Ligia Coimbra Creative Strategist and Designer Fjord

Dudu Camargo Market Engagement & Culture Director Mutato

Fabio Salmoni CEO Umcomum

Marko Brajovic Criative Director Atelier Marko Brajovic

Arthur Hirsch Ethnix

JP Amaral Bike Anjo

Alice Amorim Coordinator of the Climate Policy and Engagement Portfolio at iCS

Meli Malatesta Executive Director Pé de Igualdade

André Ferreira IEMA

Shigueo Watanabe Global Strategic Communication Council Climainfo / GSCC

Silvia Stuchi Corrida Amiga

Flavio Siqueira Purpose

Walter Simoni WRI

Aline Cavalcante CEO CCMob

 Myriam Tschiptschin CTE

Isabella Henriques Instituto Alana

David Tsai IEMA

Carol Guimarães Project Manager Rede Nossa São Paulo

Tatiana Mendizabal Sistema B

Rafael Tartaroti Founder Mobilab

Beatriz Luz Director ABStartup

Lucas Foster Project Hub

Livia Hollerbach Pipe SociaL

Ricardo Corrêa TC Urbes

Guilherme Sylos IDIS

Henriëtte Bersee NL Embassy



Ana Elena Mallet Curator Independent

Luis Herrera Co-Founder Thrust Co

Emilio Cabrero Director Design Week

Jorge Abrams Founder Winn Innovation

José De la O Owner José de la O

Miguel Melgarejo Director of Innovation CIRKLO

Francoise Lavertu Country Director Tesla

Sandra Herrera Senior Consultand for Environmental Governance GIZ

Camila Barragán Energy Coordinator Urbis Internacional

Rodolfo Rueda Founder Fomento Mexicano

Ana Coll CIO Iluméxico

Erika Gil Entrepreneur Protena

Alejandro Aguirre Entrepreneur Golgi

Richard Van der Laken Founder WDCD

Bjorn Grann COO SUM

Haydeé Moya Programs Manager SUM

Rodrigo Maldonado Programs Coordinator SUM

Sebastián Romo Founder Atelier Romo

Ricardo Lozano Founder Abierto Mexicano de Diseño



Sunny Dolat Creative Director The Nest

Dr. Akati Khasiani Writer and Maker The Nest

Nicholas Muriithi Artist and Director Giftmasters Kenya

Ivy Kimtai Director Clover Media

Dan Aceda Director Cela Dynamics

Suzanne Mieko Thomson International Art and Outreach Director Trust for Indigenous Culture and Health

Amar Inamdar Managing Director Kawisafi Ventures

Eric Nyamwaro Science Education Consultant

Michael Waiyaki Young Scientists Kenya Representative

Scheaffer Okore Chief of Trade and Investment PanAfrican Chamber of Commerce

Clara Odero Freelance fintech strategisT

Elizabeth Maina Programs Manager Embassy of Denmark in Kenya

Mukami Kowino Director Documentary Africa Fund

Megan Anderson Design Researcher STBY

Maurice Otieno General Manager Metta Kenya Metta

Daisy Chesang Programs lead and operations Metta

Waihiga Muturi Creator of Opportunities Lets Create Africa

Charles Nichols clean energy expert Sun Culture

All Amsterdam review team members


Jacob van Rijs Partner MVRDV

Rolinka Kattouw Design expert Oostwest 

Ruben Baart Editor in chief Next Nature Network

 Dinesh Sonak Managing Director ADCN

Femke Bijlsma Architect Kossman dejong architects / Rietveld

Tessa Steenkamp Service Designer Gemeente Amsterdam

Rutger Oolbekkink Adviseur Urban Strategy Inbo

 Bart Witteman ruimtelijk ontwerper MRA – Provincie Noord-Holland

Chandar van der Zanden Project Manager Metabolic

Socrates Schouten Program Manager at Commons lab

Kevin Vervuurt Senior Consultant Energy & Climate Change ARUP

Lisa Jordan Director Shine Invest

Edwin Oskam StrategicAdvisor Amsterdam Academic Board

Ian Tellam Adaptify

Sven Jense Secretary General Nationale Energie Commissie

Erik Faassen Project Manager Climate-KIC

Richard Klatten Director Reinventions Andrea Ramirez Ramirez Professor Low Carbon Systems and Technologies TU Delft

Evert Hassink Milieudefensie

Ruurd Priester Lector HVA

Joyce van den Berg Gemeente Amsterdam

Ellen Oetelmans Program Manager of Amsterdam Impact Gemeente amsterdam

Thomas Sykora Sustainable entrepeneur

Jan Kadijk Manager DGBC Academy Dutch Green Building Council

Verali von Meijenfeldt ARCADIS

Leonie van den Beuken Program Director Amsterdam Smart City

Radu Dumitrascu Communication & Media Relations Manager IKEA Foundation

AnneliesWithofs Programme manager IKEA Foundation

Petran van Heel ABN AMRO

Maxime Hofman Programma manager Social Enterprise NL

Dagan Cohen Challenge Leader WDCD

Wim Sinke UvA – FNWI

John Grin UvA

Ed Buijs Gemeente amsterdam